All That Is

It can be so tempting to focus on the things we have not finished or accomplished, especially in a social media saturated world. Oh, I think to myself, there’s another baby on Facebook and I don’t have a boyfriend or potential boyfriend in sight. Or on Twitter, one of the prolific writers I follow Tweets out yet another full-length magazine feature, and I don’t have a pitch idea.

I’m trying now, instead of letting myself dwell on what isn’t, to take pleasure in what is. This means acknowledging the life that was lived today: the pleasant exchange you had with a colleague, the dark chocolate you snacked on after lunch, the kind words you’ve written to encourage a friend facing a difficult time. Life is not a to do list. It’s about all that is lived outside of that list.

One thought on “All That Is

Leave a Reply

