seroquel hangover

600px-seroquel_100_251I doubled my dose of seroquel last night (from 25 mg to 50 mg … I take a very small amount but it has a strong effect on me) and just woke up after 10 hours of deep, dreamless sleep. Last night my thoughts were racing and I couldn’t focus on anything outside the computer. I didn’t want to take the extra seroquel in addition to all my other drugs, but I did. Seroquel has worked wonders for me in comparison with Zyprexa, which made me fat, miserable, and practically comatose.(I’m very happy s now paying up.)

Now I’m awake and getting ready to face the day. After all that seroquel-induced-sleep, I annoyed with the world and somehow still tired. Caffeine will probably perk my brain back into high gear, and even though I should stay away from it, I think I’m going to find some Starbucks after I shower.

15 thoughts on “seroquel hangover

  1. Simply desire to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your post is just cool and i could assume you are an
    expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your
    RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please
    carry on the enjoyable work.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Establish a Routine at Night and Stay Healthy « a bipolar life

  3. I take a small dose as well and doubled it too! I’ve had three cups of coffee and a diet coke! I am still druggy. Of course, it was better I only doubled as I wanted to take my entire bottle last night…

    Like

  4. I just stopped taking my seroquel for my bipolar disorder and I am on cloud 9 I know it won’t last but when I take my seroquel I have trouble breathing

    Like

  5. I took 50 mg of seroquel last night along with a 3 mg lunesta pill. Took me two hours but I did sleep. Not a good sleep though, I didn’t really like it. I doubt I’ll continue using it if I can find a way to get my tolerance to ambien down. If you gotta sleep, you gotta sleep though.

    Worst hangover of my life, by the way. I’m too used to ambien. I’m used to: Sleep, or cool hallucinations if I’m manic and I can’t. Now it’s: Want to feel like you’re going to pass out but you can’t?!

    Like

  6. I took 50 mg of seroquel last night along with a 3 mg lunesta pill. Took me two hours but I did sleep. Not a good sleep though, I didn’t really like it. I doubt I’ll continue using it if I can find a way to get my tolerance to ambien down. If you gotta sleep, you gotta sleep though.

    Worst hangover of my life, by the way. I’m too used to ambien. I’m used to: Sleep, or cool hallucinations if I’m manic and I can’t. Now it’s: Want to feel like you’re going to pass out but you can’t?!

    Like

  7. I use seroqel in very small amounts in addition to the anti-d (Escitalopram) I am on to help me calm down a bit more before bed. Just 1/2 of a 25mg tablet makes me groggy and lulls me to sleep 1/2 hour or so after ingestion. In the morning I have a very slight “hangover” but it’s also a feeling of general calmness rather than my usual morning anxiety. Last night, I took an entire 25mg pill because I overworked and was overwound. I feel a big “fat headed” today and hungover but again, I have this indescribable peace about me. Everything looks more positive – less stressful. And I am still getting lots of work done! I too needed coffee to get rolling today – 2 cups in fact, when normally even 1 cup can trigger anxiety. When used as a sleep aid in small dosages for anxious nervous people like me I find it to be a marvelous drug. Find out what this drug does to you in smaller dosages before taking a mega-dose, else you might find yourself zombified the next day – if you get up at all. I was on just 75mg once and I was totally wasted and couldn’t work. Only people with mania seem to need higher dosages so if you’re not truly manic, I would use caution – especially if you’re going to drive or use dangerous machines/equipment.

    Like

  8. i recently took one and i almost slept for two days, but i had to get up and go to school still hung over on the dang things…but they eventually wore off and when i first took them and i went to sleep they were deep refreshing sleeps…but when it was time to get up it was extremely hard

    Like

  9. I just started taking a week and a 1/2 ago im up to 150mg my dr wants me on 300 i think the drug is beginning to help. i have bad manic depression i have the hangover feeling in the morning but i sleep good and im calmer….i guess its worth it.

    Like

  10. I was on 400mg of Seroquel for 4 mths & then 300 mg for a month when I was manic. Now I’m in remission or mildly depressed and I’m on 200mg. I’m so tired – more than ever. I feel like an 80 yr old. I’m having some memory, attention, and word retrieval problems. At least I feel somewhat calmer….

    Ps. I like your Blog title. I often say that it’s hard to figure out which version of me I’m trying to get to.

    Like

  11. I have very bad insomnia. I have been on seroquel for nearly 2 years now at 500mg. Most nights it will not put me to sleep. I have to help it with a klonopin. Just to get 5 or 6 hours of sleep. However I have terrible medication hangover in the morning for about 20 or 30 minutes. When I am in a manic state nothing will help me get to sleep.

    Like

  12. I’ve been taking Seroquel as a sleep aid for almost four years… at first it was 100mgs/night but I’ve reduced it to 50 because I was feeling hungover some mornings. And now, after fourteen years of chronic bad sleep, I’ve been getting eight hours of bliss.

    Sleep is one of the most important things we lose to the manic depression. Studies have even shown after just a week of bad, interrupted sleep our bodies actually exhibit the symptoms of diabetes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

